On Entrepreneurship – the old fashioned way

September 12, 2006 at 8:31 pm Leave a comment

Dad has a pretty unique style of doing his business that most modern marketing/business gurus will seldom agree. People nowadays go for high tech/personal development books, you hear Blue Ocean Strategy, Innovators Dilemma, 21 irrefutable laws of leadership where they teach really revolutionary ideas about entrepreneurship, leadership, high tech strategies. Very engaging, and it takes a lot of practice to put them into life (which I am attemping to right now).

I try to get dad to move towards this direction all the time and can get quite frustrated when it doesn’t really go my way. Is my way, (the way of the books), really the best way? Sometimes I let my obstinate self get the better of me and I tend to forget that I am the one who’s reaping all the creature comforts from dad’s way of doing business. I forget that as much as I have read, I have not really implemented these ideas into life, yet. I forgot what it means to respect one’s ideas. But today, I managed to pull myself out from this rut and got down to understanding what is dad’s philosophy of doing business.

So, what is his philosophy? Just do it.

What? Just do it.

What about the SWOT analyses and Porter’s 5 forces and … ? Just do it.

I was stunned. I went on and ask him, do you have any plans for your company? Like the system on how you would like your customers to process their photos/documents before they send it to you for printing?

Dad’s reply was a short but surprising one: I have a basic idea, just set up some basic stuff, get the customers in and learn at the same time. Refine the system as time passes.

At this point, I still felt a little bit uneasy. I mean, I did discuss a lot with my friends on the possible methods to run the company and improve sales for Dad but whenever I told them that dad doesn’t do all the high technology analysis and marketing concepts, they were just as astounded and shocked as me on how my dad would just jump in and do a business this way but yet survive very well till today.

Then a realization struck me while I was taking a swim with him just now. The reason for dad’s success can be summarised in 2 points:

  1. He always had a goal whenever he starts on anything new, which is to bring the business to the state that he initially envisioned it out to be. And he let’s “U” take care of it. It is summarised as, 船到桥头自然直。 (A chinese saying that when a boat reaches the destination, it will naturally fall in place with the direction it’s supposed to be at) Intention manifestation at work, subconsciously. He focuses on a goal and handles any challenges that comes along the way.
  2. Just do it. This is the very essence of manifesting a business. Too much cow talk and bull shit does not make a business until you move your ass and start getting it done.

These are the 2 biggest points that I got out of chatting with him. I am not saying that it is the 100% true philosophy to start a successful business because that’s very debatable. But they are really very relevant points and elements for a business which I will learn to incorporate them in at my own experimentation and discretion.

Thanks dad! Good stuff! 🙂

Entry filed under: Entrepreneurship.

From good to great… tHimerosa style. Dream Log – The attempt to lucid dreaming

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 34,768 hits

