tHim’s first lucid dream.

September 28, 2006 at 10:29 am 10 comments

This came quite unexpected as I kind of slacked off in my dream recall exercise since the 2nd dream log. Well what happened was this morning, I fell asleep after I woke up at 8am. I was in a fairly conscious mode. I started to dream of my current home and that it is in its pre-movein state. The rooms were empty and there were no lights. Suddenly a consciousness kicked in and said, “Hey, this can’t be true, I have already moved in!”. I was so bloody happy and suddenly my world started to twirl around me. I knew I was going to wake up, so I did what the dream forums recommended, and that was to open my arms and spin on the spot. I felt myself being drawn back into the dream.

It was great and I kept telling myself, “this is a dream, this is a dream”. Suddenly, Luyee popped by and I decided to explore something with her. There was a “Victoria’s Secret” castle that had play stuff in it. I flew in and then Qiuju popped by. I knew I cannot jump out of the castle because I will definitely wake up. So I decided to walk upside down while holding her hand and that feeling was just amazing!

However, the lucidity was lost soon after as I left the castle. Luyee turned into my mom and it seemed pretty normal to my logical mind that I am awake. I asked myself, so am I awake? My mom prodded me and I felt pain. (didn’t know that the pain test fails for me) And I fell back into my dream state.

The rest of the dreams? I saw a super bloated Frank (da frank) and he was telling me he liked me and kept trying to hug and kiss me. But I was faithful to The Boyfriend and I kicked his ass out of the classroom. Then I told da frank that if it happened before I went to the US, it might have worked out. Then he replied, well, I was much fatter then and he himself was more eligible then. Wow. I just told him to scram off. Then I went back to my classroom and made friends with the Indian girls there.

And then I woke up. This is so exciting. LUCID DREAMING IS FUN!

Entry filed under: Dreams.

Dreams Day 2 Dummy’s Guide to Setting up OLSR on WRT54G and Openwrt

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kf  |  September 28, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    awesome! congrats on the first

    Reply
  • 2. Peter  |  October 3, 2006 at 8:49 am

    I wish I could lucid dream, but I’m a bit of an insomniac. When I have a lucid dream, it usually comes out of a nightmare though…..and I decidedly like to fly.

    Reply
  • 3. thimerosa  |  October 3, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    Iinsomniac! I’m having insomnia these days cause of stress.

    Try confronting your nightmare next time, it’s usually not that scary.

    For lucid dreaming, you could try several exercises as recommended by lucid dreaming websites. They recommend that you first start with dream recall exercises. Then progressing on to some exercises like doing reality checks every hourwhen you’re awake so that when you’re sleeping, you will do it to.

    Quite a huge domain to be explored! Have fun 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Peter  |  October 4, 2006 at 6:24 am

    Funny. I reached this through blogspot, but it doesnt let me sign in. Ohh well.
    Actually, my history teacher is into lucid dreaming-he already pointed his class to those. My problem is that I never remember my dreams. I beleive it was a childhood thing, didnt like dreaming.
    I would keep a dream diary, but if I cant remember anything.

    Sucks for me. You know, actually, on wikipedia, I found a few of my insomnia symptoms listed under sleep paralysis.

    Weird. And I always thought I was crazy. It is really creepy to learn about it, and know that I too felt panic and everything-and couldnt stop it.

    I think I just posted a link to my blog. Im new at this. Ohh well.

    Reply
  • 5. thimerosa  |  October 4, 2006 at 10:56 am

    Hey Peter,

    Great of you to drop and share your thoughts.

    I always thought I was crazy too, but in actual fact, so is the world.

    I used to be really insomniac too, then I realised that I thought to much. They range from:
    – People’s opinions of me
    – Unable to perform up to standards in school
    – Possible failure coming up
    – Too excited about the upcoming activities

    Really tortured the heck out of me. Then I found a few techniques that I would like to share with you:

    – When you lie on the bed, the moment you see a thought come into your mind, just dismiss it. Don’t even think it. So your mind becomes a blank. Visually it’s like taking a shield and repelling thoughts. Then just use your eyes to look at the images that appear. Usually this takes me to sleep really fast.
    – Another way is to sleep at like 3am in the morning and wake up at 8am. Then by night time, I would usually be so fatigued that I crash.
    – One more way is to adopt a regular sleep cycle, sleep at 11pm everyday, wake up at 7am everyday. This definitely helps.
    – Try not to do anything really vigorous before you sleep.
    – Avoid afternoon naps.

    Also, I would recommend you to read a book which is really good. Life’s Missing Instruction Manual Take some time off too and scream out loud at the sea. Do a hearty laugh in the morning 🙂

    Hope this helps!

    Thanks for sharing the link to your blog 🙂 And do blog about your progress!

    Reply
  • 6. Peter  |  October 5, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Lol, I deleted it, I was sounding depressed, which I’m not, I love to laugh.

    I have no trouble clearing my mind if I concentrate, but youre right, I do worry about failure, standards, I’m getting my first C on a midterm ever, woops, and peoples opinion of me, which, because of a series of many bad choices, is generally bad (I sometimes am a bit eccentric.)

    It really sucks to find out that most people wont spend a minute getting to know somebody over just having a opinion on them that really isnt theirs.

    Reply
  • 7. thimerosa  |  October 5, 2006 at 5:11 pm

    I used to have the same problem about people’s opinion about me. A friend told me, you can’t like everybody, hence you cannot expect everyone to like you. Certainly, knowing this was liberating for me.

    As long as I define my own moral standards, which right now is to Honor my parents, be truthful and honest, and never deliberately hurt somebody else, I am true to myself. Doesn’t really matter what other’s opinion is about me.

    It’s nice to have everyone enjoying my company, but some people just don’t click. I have been told that the things people do to others, is only because someone had did it to them before. Most people won’t spend a min getting to know others because someone did that to them before.

    But there will be people who care. And these are the people you should treasure.

    First C is alright, it’s an experience in life 🙂 I’ve always been tops in my classes until college where I got my first few Cs too. But if I never had those Cs, I would have never appreciated the value of hard work and working smart.

    If you think you’re eccentric and you behave eccentrically, you will be eccentric to people. It applies to different thoughts, like if you think you’re arrogant, you behave arrogantly, you will definitely come across as arrogant to people. But it’s alright, just understand that and take full responsibility for your life. Nothing wrong or right 🙂 That’s the beauty of life, we can change and be what we want to be. You can choose to be anything, it all starts with the thought.

    I would recommend you to read http://www.stevepavlina.com if you have the time and interest in personal development.

    Reply
  • 8. Peter  |  October 6, 2006 at 4:39 am

    Funny. I came to most of those conclusions a long time ago.
    Even my moral values follow those lines, except I don’t really obey my parents that strictly.
    I would never hurt somebody unless I had no choice-and I’ve paid because of it.
    Actually, just last week, somebody who one of my friends described as a huggable person, who wants to have fun, a yea! I survived cancer person-and he did have cancer, while I was in elementary school, kicked me five times and hit me over the head, because I mocked an ultimatem he gave-he said I couldnt come within 20 ft of him. I took two exaggerated-read:goofy-steps towards him, and he did the same towards me. I thought he was mocking me in turn, so I turned away. He came up and hit me from behind on the head, and then kicked me in one leg five time trying to make me trip.

    I’ve always been a non violent person, since elementary school, when I did something I regret even now occasionally.
    As a result, I actually have never taken any risks. Never gotten hurt badly. Never broken a bone.

    The funny thing was, I was always afraid of this guy, I thought he was tall and menacing-we just didnt click. Most other people think he is great. He just never was that way to me. When he tried to hurt me, it didnt do anything to me. I just kept walking. Its funny, anticipation is worse than the event in that case. I could have turned and probably given him a run for his money-yeah, right. My leg, about ten seconds after, felt weak to walk on- I didn’t show it. But I tried to just keep going not turn around. Why not? Why didnt I defend myself? Go get a teacher? I’ll never know.

    But, finally, I would kill to know what he was thinking. I honestly would. How could someone be such an asshole? And be so good, according to others, at the same time? What did I do to him?

    Reply
  • 9. thimerosa  |  October 11, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    Sorry for the late reply.. Been busy. For this particular situation, what would you actually have wanted to do? Within yourself, what did you want to ask him?

    How about from your side, did you do something that’s different?

    Usually, I’ll ask friend who’s close to me that is willing to tell me everything from his/her point of view. This way I get both angles of things.

    We all have different masks that we put on during different days. There is nothing wrong with it, it’s just part of human nature to have them to protect us. For example, we are usually extremely docile when we are with a power of authority cause we think that being docile might protect us and not offend that guy. But amongst some of our friends, we put on a mask of the mother hen, we have to protect them.. and so on…

    It’s all good… it’s part of us 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Peter  |  October 12, 2006 at 8:38 am

    Ach, I’ve been busy too. The only thing I do with blogging during the week is to follow a few blogs I’ve posted on, yours included.

    Life…..is complicated.

    And my personal dream efforts have ended up with me in a form of sleep paralysis almost every night. The only dreams I had were over the weekend in a large hotel bedroom…..sleeep…..pretty weird dreams though

    Anyway, thanks for the advice

    Back to studying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 34,830 hits

